F5F Stay Refreshed Software General Software I need to put Dropbox on an old hard drive that is already used.

I need to put Dropbox on an old hard drive that is already used.

I need to put Dropbox on an old hard drive that is already used.

I
Ian77
Member
110
10-10-2026, 08:25 PM
#1
Will I be able to safely erase the old Dropbox folder on my computer by moving everything from the "C" drive to a new "D" drive? Will Dropbox keep syncing those same files back onto the internet even if I delete them locally right now?
I
Ian77
10-10-2026, 08:25 PM #1

Will I be able to safely erase the old Dropbox folder on my computer by moving everything from the "C" drive to a new "D" drive? Will Dropbox keep syncing those same files back onto the internet even if I delete them locally right now?

U
UltiPig
Member
55
10-18-2026, 07:26 PM
#2
You can see exactly where Dropbox is syncing by looking at the settings under Settings > Syncing path. If nothing has been changed, it will just sit there on "C" (your hard drive). It would probably be a good idea to check that first thing. Then close DB, delete the folder on your old C drive that you don't want it to use, and restart Dropbox again. As mentioned before, if you didn't move anything, it should still show up on current C.
U
UltiPig
10-18-2026, 07:26 PM #2

You can see exactly where Dropbox is syncing by looking at the settings under Settings > Syncing path. If nothing has been changed, it will just sit there on "C" (your hard drive). It would probably be a good idea to check that first thing. Then close DB, delete the folder on your old C drive that you don't want it to use, and restart Dropbox again. As mentioned before, if you didn't move anything, it should still show up on current C.

N
NikoMash
Senior Member
335
10-22-2026, 03:48 AM
#3
Can you really take out the Dropbox folder on your computer when it's still active?
N
NikoMash
10-22-2026, 03:48 AM #3

Can you really take out the Dropbox folder on your computer when it's still active?

W
WaterLily2003
Senior Member
648
10-24-2026, 12:50 AM
#4
It is best to erase all data from your old hard drive that ran the operating system. Next, move important files over to a new place so you can start fresh and build something new.
W
WaterLily2003
10-24-2026, 12:50 AM #4

It is best to erase all data from your old hard drive that ran the operating system. Next, move important files over to a new place so you can start fresh and build something new.

P
Pyroblaster00
Junior Member
46
10-24-2026, 12:58 AM
#5
You can go into the Dropbox settings and see exactly where it is syncing to. If you leave things as they are, it stays on "C". It probably makes sense to check that spot first, then close the app, delete the folder from your old "C" drive location, restart Dropbox again. As mentioned before, if nothing changed, it should still be on C.
P
Pyroblaster00
10-24-2026, 12:58 AM #5

You can go into the Dropbox settings and see exactly where it is syncing to. If you leave things as they are, it stays on "C". It probably makes sense to check that spot first, then close the app, delete the folder from your old "C" drive location, restart Dropbox again. As mentioned before, if nothing changed, it should still be on C.